Anneliese Heider Tisdale

Christmas Trees Lit the Sky

First Book Club Reading

I wanted to post an update from the different book readings I have done starting with the very first reading I had since publishing my book.  I did not know what to expect when I was invited to a book club in Cedar Rapids. All of the members had read my book: *Christmas Trees Lit the Sky. *It was to be a discussion of the book and to sign the books they had purchased from New Bo Books. The hostess had e-mailed me: “Please come hungry, there will be plenty of food.”

With the appetizers the hostess offered St. Anneliese wine, a lovely Liebfraumilch, and German beer from Aldi’s. After everyone had arrived, she served Bavarian Potato Salad (p. 61 in my book) and German mustard to go
with the meat. And if that were not enough, the dessert consisted of the Gesundheitskuchen (p. 30 in my book) with fresh strawberries and real whipped cream – just like in Germany. WOW how neat was that! She did an excellent job with all of that. I was impressed.

After dinner we had a good discussion while German chocolates were passed around.

It was late when I walked to my car with a bottle of St. Anneliese and the bouquet of flowers I had been presented. What a great group of young women. I felt I had made new friends during my first book signing at a book club.

Since that time, I have had a number of readings and am attaching pictures from some of them.

Gesundheits-kuchen

Gesundheits-kuchen

The desert from my first reading.

Book Loft, Columbus,Ohio

Book Loft, Columbus,Ohio

A picture of my reading at the Book Loft in Columbus, Ohio

One of the other things that has helped me has been my local bank. The US Bank where I bank has a program called “business spotlight”. Local businesses, authors, photographers etc. get a display table for a month to show their “wares”.

I have had the “spotlight” table at the Council Street Branch for the month of June. In August I will be at the Lindale Branch, in September at the Main Office (downtown) and at the branch in North Liberty. I have appreciated the support and it has led to readings for a number of the local service clubs.

I have updated my event calendar to reflect all of my future public readings ( I have a few service clubs scheduled for August – not listed). So far, I have really enjoyed all of my readings and am very happy with the response from my readers.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

pearlspotting

Originally from Finland, Parisienne by marriage. Happy mother of a happy daughter. I have traveled in more than sixty countries for pleasure and work. Love cooking, restaurants and food markets. Design and architecture catch my eye. This blog is about everyday life in Paris, past memories converted into travel stories and new adventures.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

thewallgalleryblog

Artist Kirt Tisdale talks about his Art Gallery

